Things I Like About Berlin (so far)

1. There is a street named after Karl-Marx. Yes, ok, he was German and so that is probably the reason, but still, I like how even with all the troubles Berlin suffered at the hands of communism, no-one has said, ‘hey, maybe we should change that street name.’ Ok, yes, so Karl Marx HIMSELF didn’t actually do all the terrible things to Berlin, but, STILL. It looks hardcore and communist, ok? And I LIKE THAT.

2. These fellows:

Bucket Flower Friends

Bucket Flower Friends

3. A girl wearing a T-shirt saying, ‘I Will Not Keep Calm, Fuck Off.’

4. Tempelhof

5. This indie-folk band named the ‘Charity Children’ whose concert I will be attending on the 10th of June:

Charity Children. Appear to be neither charity-cases nor children.

Charity Children. Appear to be neither charity-cases nor children. But the good music is not a lie.

6. Walking by the Spree

7. This Hundebar (Dog Bar):

Hundebar. Complete with lovely garden and fake butterflies in tree.

Hundebar. Complete with lovely garden and fake butterflies in tree.

8. The interesting historical signs everywhere (in German AND in English!)

9. This man, who is ‘some art’:

That is SOME art.

That is SOME art.

10. Watching a man in an electric wheelchair speed down my street whilst doing his yodelling warm-up at 10am. Yodelling. REALLY.

11. This statue of some firemen who seem to be about to have a water fight:

They all look like the same fireman too. It's like that awesome scene with all the Johnny Depps in the 3rd Pirates of the Caribbean movie.

They all look like the same fireman too. It’s like that awesome scene with all the Johnny Depps in the 3rd Pirates of the Caribbean movie.

12. This children’s playground with these in-ground trampolines:

You know I bounced on them. I bounced on them so hard.

You know I bounced on them. I bounced on them so hard.

And this cheery message in the midst of all the play equipment:

Happy lives, kiddies!

Happy lives, kiddies!

13.These posters:

IMG_0597

IMG_0598

IMG_0599

14. Having a Diet Coke at a Spree-side bar and lying on a giant orange cushion thing in the sun and wearing sunglasses and pretending there is such a thing as the German Riviera and that I am currently experiencing it. ‘Ordering’ in German (and by that, I mean, taking the Diet Coke over to the woman and correctly guessing what she is saying to me based on my experience with other similar conversations. “Tsdffhwiuecnckeghg?” Hmmm… what would a salesperson be asking me at this point, I know, ‘is that all I want?’ “Ja.” Ha. Totally nailed it. Hand over 10 euro note as this will surely cover cost of teenty-tiny bottle of Diet Coke and have no idea what she actually told me it cost. “Tasrhwekfsdfhubtwetwkdu?” Oh no, she’s asking me something else. It sounded like numbers. She must be asking if I have a particular coin. BUT WHICH COIN??? “Tsiheunfnahbutghihg Funfzig?” Oh, she just said 50. Maybe I could give her 50 instead. Search purse for 50 cent coin, come up with a 20 and three 10s. She takes the 20. Ah. So the first unknown number must have been ’20.’ Such German knowledge. Very wow.)

15. This tree that is missing it’s middle:

What happened, Mr. Tree??

What happened, poor Mr. Tree??

16. This table for ‘High’ tea:

I'll take the third tier, thank you.

I’ll take the third tier, thank you.

17. OMG THIS WEATHER:

Just a bit different from yesterday (check out the post on Tempelhof if you're curious)

Just a bit different from yesterday (check out the post on Tempelhof if you’re curious)

 

2 Comments

Filed under Germany

2 responses to “Things I Like About Berlin (so far)

  1. Amazing pictures! 🙂

Leave a Reply

